When you delete your Twitter account:
- You need to deactivate your account using your account settings.
- Your account should be deactivated within a few minutes, but some content may be viewable for a few days.
- Data is only retained for 30 days from date of deactivation after which it is deleted. Twitter retains its licence to use any content you post (see discussion on the licence in this post).
- If you want to use the same username or email address on another Twitter account later, you must remember to change both before deactivation.
- Your profile may still show up